Veri di Suvero_AKPIRG.JPG

Veri di Suvero

Executive Director

Veri joined the AKPIRG team in September 2018 to serve as the Executive Director. Veri’s background is in various advocacy areas, most recently Alaska Native language revitalization and maintenance. They currently live in Anchorage.



Steve and Liam skiing 2018.jpg

Steve Cleary

Board Chair

Steve  worked for AkPIRG from 2000-2008 and is very grateful for that time and the inspiration it has given him for lifelong activism. Mentors, like AkPIRG founder Hugh Fleischer, taught Steve to continue to push for a political and economic system that strives for fairness, equity and social justice. Steve lives in Anchorage with his wife and son.


Nelta Edwards


Nelta is an AKPirg Board member because she gets to work with a great group of members and board members to advocate for issues that she is passionate about. 

mebearcove15 (2).jpg

Lois Epstein

AKPIRG plays an essential role protecting and enhancing state and federal government practices that are responsive to public and consumer interests. Additionally, during its over forty-plus years of existence, AKPIRG has strengthened democratic engagement by Alaskans. As a board member, Lois is happy to help accomplish these important goals.


John Kennish

John is a retired Professor of Chemistry who served the students at UAA for 36 years and had over 40 publications mainly with undergraduate chemistry students.  John has been a long time board member dating back to Steve Conn's directorship.  His major concern is that members of the community are treated with fairness when accessing the businesses of Anchorage. 


Peggy Wilcox


Ira Slomski-Pritz

Ira has worked as a NOLS faculty member, co-director of the Alaska Fellows Program, and served as a policy and communications adviser to Governor Bill Walker. He lives in Anchorage and enjoys any activity that lets him play outside. 

Want to join our team?

  • Check here for career opportunities.

  • Sign up to volunteer, become a member, or learn about joining the board!